One hundred years ago an exhibition took place which is now being revisited. When the Museum building opened its doors back in 1915, the Funen artists curated their own work, as the Museum had been conceived and built solely to show their ‘home-grown’ art. Now the same show is revisited for posterity. As a mark of respect for the Funen artists, Faaborg Museum opens its doors in 2015 by celebrating its centenary with the original salon-hang.
In 1915 gallery convention required that paintings were hung closely together and so there was space for the 366 paintings, sculptures and drawings, which had been purchased by the Museum from 1910-15. The entrepreneur Mads Rasmussen had the idea for a museum to showcase work by the Funen artists and he set up a purchasing committee composed of artists which had free rein to select work. Carl Petersen was the architect responsible for the Museum building and he designed a unique structure on an unusual site, which was 9 metres wide and 76 metres long.
The Museum featured 24 artists. The artists along with their patron had established this collection by the time of the inauguration of the Museum building. Amongst the most highly-regarded artists were Johannes Larsen, Fritz Syberg and Peter Hansen who were members of the purchasing committee, and their wives and sisters, Anna Syberg, Alhed Larsen and Christine Swane.